Cole Ledford- I Would Offer My Attacker Forgiveness

Posted: November 13, 2014 by RealMrHousewife in Exclusive, Gay, News
Tags: ,

Cole Ledford was the victim of a vicious homophobic attack on November 6th. A message he posted on his twitter moments after he was punched in the face for simply kissing his boyfriend went viral, and Cole has become an overnight sensation. He seems to be using his newfound recognition in the right manner. We recently got to catch up with him to talk about the incident, his relationship, coming out, and what he would say to his attacker if they came face to face again. 

On the incident, Cole tells us, “My boyfriend and I left a friends house after watching a movie and as I kissed him goodbye when he turned to walk home, a man punched me and yelled a gay expletive. I posted the tweet within minutes of it occurring to express exactly how I was feeling in that moment.”

Here was Cole’s tweet:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 3.17.19 PM

This instantly got Cole public attention, with people hash tagging #LoveIsLouder with responses.

As one would likely think, to get such a huge response could seem overwhelming. We asked Cole how he and his boyfriend feel with his newfound famous status. Cole tells us, “I am using this new found celebrity to raise awareness about the power of love and the LGBT Community. It’s been overwhelming and insprirational with all the support I’ve received and I’m so thankful for all of the support.”

As far as how his boyfriend feels, Cole tells us, “Jerad (my boyfriend) has been very supportive of whatever I have chosen as my path with this whole process and he has offered his advice when I ask. We are both enjoying the ability to share our story and our passion for issues such as equality and love with the world.”

Someone hearing about Cole’s brave post and secure sense of self may think he came out years ago, but that’s not the case. Cole has been openly gay for just over a year. He discussed his coming out process with us, telling us that “I first came out when I was 19, just last November. It was terrifying at first, as it is for most individuals when they first find the courage to express who they are, but since then the love and support I have received has made me confident in who I am. My family has stood by me and, while perhaps maybe not always understanding, they are always supportive.”

Although Cole’s coming out story is a relatively recent one, it’s clear he’s confident in himself. We asked him what advice he would give to teens/young adults struggling with coming out. He advised “It may be scary and you may be afraid, but a bad day out of the closet is better than a good day in. We are all here to help you and support you. We’re family.”

Not only is Cole comfortable with who he is, but he has great plans for the future. On if marriage and children are in his future he tells us, “Absolutely! All I have ever wanted is a beautiful family and a house full of kids. I want to make it my passion to continue lobbying state legislators and elected officials nationwide to recognize that love is a human experience, not a political statement.”

Even though Cole has this newfound status within the internet and gay community alike, he’s not changing or trying to fit into any stereotypes. He expanded on this, stating that “I say that as anyone with a lot of media attention and a lot of eyes on them, its crucial you portray yourself as a role model and a good person. I don’t need to change who I am just because of the attention, I just have to continue acting how my mom raised me, a decent, respectable person.”

Finally, we ended with a relatively hard question for Cole. If he could come face-to-face with the man who viciously attacked him simply for being gay, what would he say? Cole told us, “I would offer him forgiveness for what he did because at the end of it all, he has not only given me the platform to refind myself, he has given me the ability to show the world that when love is louder than hate, the whole world listens.”

We adore Cole. He is truly a shining example of a gay man, a brave man, and- most importantly- a wonderful human being who is using a newfound social stature in a most positive manner.

We cannot wait to continue to watch Cole shine in the future and hope he will keep us posted on his endeavors.

(All images used courtesy of @coleledford11)

Leave a Reply

